Primark Makeup Haul & Review pt 1

You can’t go to England without taking at least one trip to Primark, now can you? Primark recently relaunched their makeup line PS… and their more expensive line (if you can even call 1-2 pounds more per product”expensive”) PS… Pro. I bought most of these things in the beginning of my week in England, so I’ve had a fair chance to try all of them and formed an opinion on them. I will probably split this up into two parts just like my England Drugstore Makeup Haul pt 1 & pt2.

So, let’s just dive right into it!

Let’s start with the makeup tools I got. I haven’t tried these exact sponges yet, but I have tried their beauty sponges before and I think they are quite good (I used one by them for a few months last year). This time I got the set with the green and the orange ones. And I’ve been dying to try the original mini beauty blenders, so I got these to test before I spend lots of money on the “real” ones.

They also just recently came out with oval brushes from their Pro-range. I really wanted the large one, but that one was sold out so I got the medium one instead. I’m still just testing this out, but so far it is okay. You can’t use it in circular motions like most oval brushes because of the quality (it leaves ugly streaks on your face. You know what I’m talking about?). Neither do I know exactly what to use this for yet. So far I’ve only used it to blend out my concealer, but maybe it works better for something else?

I also got three brushes from their regular range. First of all, oh my god just look at them! Rose gold! And the eyelash curler is rose gold as well. How beautiful? Anyway… These brushes are actually good, the price considered. They pick up tonnes of product. You’d think that is a good thing, but it is so hard to tap product off of these brushes. So if you aren’t careful you could easily end up with clown cheeks or way too much eyeshadow. The different brushes I got were the Tapered Blush Brush, the Stippling Brush, and the Eye Contour Brush. The eyelash curler is really nice. It curls my lashes like a dream. But they don’t stay like that all day. Don’t know if that is because of the curler or the mascara though.

 

My nose is in a constant need of a good pore stripping, so of course I had to get these nose pore strips. In one pack for 1 pound you get 4 small packs with nose strips. You wet your nose, then put it on, let it work for around 10 minutes, then ta-da! Well… not really. To be fair, it did remove some of my blackheads and poremasks, but most of them were kind of weirdly half-pulled out which just made them more visible. Super odd.

The hand cream works great, actually. And it smells just like chocolate! I liked it more than I thought I would, if I’m honest. It’s nice to just throw in your handbag, and it isn’t too heavy on the skin which I like. It’s never nice to have a thick hand cream on during the day and feel like you can’t touch anything without getting hand cream all over it. But this one sinks in quickly and works well.

The lip scrub is… well… it’s okay. Not good, but not bad. It smells very nice, at least. But on my lips they feel a bit more like a lip balm than a scrub, if I’m honest. I like it when scrubs aren’t too gentle, like this one is. But if you’re sensitive and, as opposed to me, actually want something gentle, this might be right up your alley.

 

I’ve tried both their false lashes and nails before and quite liked both of them, so I stocked up a bit. I don’t use false nails that often, so these 8 sets will probably last me a while.

I do already have the Sultry lashes from Primark, and their individual ones, and I really like them. They look nice and are easy to apply. The only thing I don’t like is the glue, but that’s easily fixed by just using your normal eyelash glue. Either way, I got every other style they had. I haven’t tried them on yet, but just from looking at them I reckon I’ll like the Full Look or the Natural ones the most.

 

 

IMG_4253

Shades, from left to right: Ice Queen, Frosted Candy, Make Me Blush. £1 for the matte ones, 0.80 for the normal one.

I got a few nail polishes as well. I haven’t tried them before so I actually have no clue if they’re good yet. I painted on the Frosted Candy shade today and so far it looks nice and it haven’t chipped yet but we’ll see.

I got two matte ones, and one regular. But… the “matte” white isn’t matte at all. I think the formula may be the same as the matte ones, but for some reason they’ve added shimmer to it. Like… why add shimmer to a matte polish? I don’t understand at all. It’s still nice, but just not what I thought I was getting.

 

I had no idea if these would be good or bad, but I purchased them anyway just to try. They had a green redness corrector, and a yellow under eye brightener. I do like the green one a lot more than the yellow one. I can get quite red skin from time to time, and are always on the hunt for a good corrector to cover it. This one did the trick. Not the best one I’ve ever tried, but considering how cheap it is it was definitely worth the money. The yellow one just… doesn’t do much at all, to be honest.

The biggest issue I have with these are that they’re so darn hard to blend out. It doesn’t work with a sponge, brush… it barely works with your finger, even though that’s the best option. The way I get these to blend slightly easier is to put them on right after my primer and blend them into the primer.

 

They have both cream and powder contours in their range, and as I prefer working with powders I got the powder one. It comes with a little brush, which I’ve been loving for highlighting, not so much for contouring. The palette itself has nice packaging and a nice big mirror. It comes with three shades: a matte highlighting shade, a matte cool brown shade, and a slightly glittery warm red-ish brown shade. The highlighting shade doesn’t work for me at all. It is way to dark for my fair skin. But the other two shades are actually alright. They are a bit powdery and they aren’t too pigmented, but it does look good once you’ve spent some time on it. I especially like the warm brown for contouring and bronzing my forehead. You’d think that colour is too red but it actually isn’t.

 

I also got their brow pencil, in the darker shade. It comes in two different shades, and has a nice brush on the end. This is actually a re-purchase, I’ve gone through an entire one of these before. I don’t really use brow pencils on a day to day basis, I much prefer brow powders, but they’re nice to have when you’re travelling or are on the go. The only brow pencil I have at the moment is my ABH Brow Wiz, so I thought I’d be nice to get an affordable brow pen as well.

 

See you for part 2, which will be all lip products!

XXX

Leave a comment